Home > Film Reviews > Red 2 Review

Red 2 Review

Red 2 (12A)

Reviewed By Kate Maitland-Gleed

Star Rating: 5 Star

Only last week, did I finally watch the first ‘Red’ all the way through. And my gosh did I enjoy it. So, I was really looking forward to see ‘Red 2’… I was not disappointed! Bigger guns, bigger villains, bigger laughs! We see the group moving from different countries; from the US to Paris, to London, to Moscow. And not only are they on the search for the worlds most powerful bomb, but Sarah is on the look out for those Gucci shoes she saw on the catwalk!! (You’ll get the joke when you watch the film!!)

Sarah (played by Mary-Louise Parker) has a far bigger action role in this film compared to the other. Whether that is because she wants to prove herself to her retired C.I.A boyfriend; Frank, or because she wants show that she will not let jealousy stand in her way when Franks ex-girlfriend the Russian spy Katja (played by Catherine Zeta-Jones) turns up. As you can tell, there are new faces to be seen in this sequel. Along side Bruce Willis (plays Frank Moses), John Malkovich (plays Marvin), Helen Mirren (plays Victoria) and Parker, new faces include Anthony Hoppkins (who plays Bailey), Byung-hun Lee (who plays Han Cho Bai), Zeta-Jones, Neal McDonough (who plays Jack Horton), David Thewlis (who plays ‘The Frog’), among more. I must add that Malkovich is funnier than ever and will keep you on your toes to say the least!

I really enjoyed ‘Red 2’ as, like its predecessor, it kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what was going to happen next. This film is a must see!! Apart from a little bad language, I would say that this film is suitable for anyone who has seen the first ‘Red’ and who enjoys a good action film with flecks of comedy thrown in. I for one will be buying the DVD when it comes out!! That’s after I have gone to watch the film again. See you at the cinema…

Categories: Film Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

