Home > Film Reviews > Monsters University Review

Monsters University Review

Monsters University (U)

Reviewed By Kate Maitland-Gleed

Star Rating: 3 Stars

Seeing our big blue buddy and his little green pal again, makes us feel excited to finally find out the story behind the 2001 hit; ‘Monsters Inc.’. To find out more about these beloved characters and to reveal how their two paths crossed, how they got into the scaring business, and how they became the best of friends. But to get to their dream jobs, they have to meet new friends, make new enemies, undergo traumatic school tests, and prove themselves to the University Head; Dean Hardscrabble.

We hear the same bubbly voices for Sulley and Mike as we did in the last film, along with the less bubbly Randy, the sly lizard that can vanish in an instant. So joining Billy Crystal (Mike), John Goodman (Sulley) and Steve Buscemi (Randy) this time round we have; Helen Mirren (voicing Dean Hardscrabble), Peter Sohn (voicing Squishy), Joel Murray (voicing Don), Sean Hayes (voicing Terri), Dave Foley (voicing Terry), Charlie Day (voicing Art) along with many more.

I was looking forward to seeing ‘Monsters University’ as I had enjoyed the previous film so much. But I was sadly disappointed. Maybe this is because I am now fifteen and when I watch the first film I was a mere three; but never the less, I did feel that this prequel was a try hard that although have me laughing at some points, failed to keep me interested all the way through. The storyline was sweet as we saw the hurdles that Mike and Sulley had to overcome to achieve true scariness and true friendship, and the new characters we met were funny at times, but overall this film took too long to catch my attention and had too many half hearted jokes and silly actions for my liking. But I’m sure, if I was not a fifteen year old, but a seven year old with a bunch of my friends and family, I would really enjoy this film and be nagging my parent to see it again!

Categories: Film Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

