Home > Film Reviews > Review – Wreck It Ralph

Review – Wreck It Ralph

Wreck It Ralph (PG)

Written By Kate Maitland-Gleed

Rated: 4 out of 5

I went to watch his film with very low expectations. By watching the trailers, to me, it looked try hard and too childish for my liking. So I sat there, popcorn in hand, surrounded by a full cinema screen, waiting for ‘Wreck It Ralph’ to start. And my, how wrong I was! Within the first 5 minutes I was laughing. With the amazing John C. Reilly voicing the character ‘Ralph’, along side Jack McBrayer (Fix’it Felix Jr.), Jane Lynch (Calhoun) and Sarah Silverman (Vanellope), what is there not to like. Plus, on top of that, there is a whole game based on sweets!! Wow!

Mario, Sonic, PacMan. Just some of the names we remember from childhood games that we played for hours on end. But what about Browser, Dr. Eggman and the PacMan Ghosts; the ‘bad guys’ as we called them. We forget about them. They have feelings too. What do they do when the games aren’t being played. What if they wanted to be the hero of the game for once? Like Ralph does. Wreck It Ralph ruins buildings, breaks spirits and is feared by all. But he wants to be happy and loved like Felix – the hero of the game. But the only way Ralph can prove himself is by winning a gold medal… Not from his own game, but from another. Hero Duty! A perilous game that unleashes a mass of giant flying bugs that you must shoot. I know, it’s gripping stuff! But his plan goes wrong, Ralph ends up in a land made of chocolate, marshmallows, candy canes and any sweet treat you can think of. (I wish I could go there!!) But then what happens? Pause for effect… You will have to watch the film to find out!!

Wreck It Ralph gives us a perspective into the lives of games characters after the arcade is closed. They have a whole world or their own. And although I’m not a child anymore, I still in actual fact enjoyed this film far more than I thought I would. And speaking to my friends who have also watched it, they seemed to as well. So… Enjoy!

Categories: Film Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

