Home > Film Reviews > One Day – Review

One Day – Review

One Day (12A) – Review

By Katie Maitland-Gleed

Score – 4/5

Well, what can I say? It’s no secret that this film is a tear jerker, and for anyone who has read the acclaimed David Nicholls book, you know what happens, but that being said, bring your Kleenex all ye who enter the cinema! My Mum came with me to see this film and she said, one of the main pleasures was hearing all the music over the years from 1988. Attention to gadgets, fashion and hairstyles were good through the period that is covered from start to end, and although the lovely Anne Hathaway (who plays Emma) has received criticism of her accent, I say; get a life – the girl can act!

Having not read the book myself I’m in no position to comment on how true to the original the film is, but I can only imagine that if David Nicholls wrote both the book and the screenplay then it can’t be too different. I would say that the market for this film is aimed at women although there were some men present in the cinema when I went – so don’t feel excluded guys!

Although it took the first 15 minutes or so to get into it’s stride, I guarantee you will find it impossible to leave the cinema unmoved by this film – my Mum cried!

Ian (played by Rafe Spall) has some brilliant, dry, Yorkshire one-liners and shares a particularly moving scene near the end with Dexter (played by Jim Sturgess), who ages beautifully from the foppish college graduate at the beginning.

 

I give this film , but you will need tissues………… And chocolate!!!!!!!!!!

Categories: Film Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

