Home > Film Reviews > The Smurfs – Review

The Smurfs – Review

The Smurfs (U)

Reviewed by Katie Maitland-Gleed

Score: 3/5

After preparation for the annual ‘Blue Moon Festival’, Smurfette, (voiced by Katy Perry), Gutsy, Clumsy, Brainy, Grouchy and Papa Smurf find themselves falling through a vortex into a strange land… Commonly known as New York City! But their evil enemy Gargamel, (played by Hank Azaria – F.R.I.E.N.D.S and Simpsons Fame), and his trusty sidekick, a cat with a very human like personality, are after them to capture and take away their joy! So with six tiny blue creatures and a evil yet funny wizard in town, who would be better to split the two up but Neil Patrick Harris, (How I Met Your Mother), who plays the work orientated Patrick Winslow. Jayma Mays plays his wife ‘Grace Winslow’ and takes a liking to the Smurfs from the start.

I went to see this film twice. Once in 3D and the second in 2D. I actually found it much more enjoyable the second time around. I must admit, when I heard ‘Smurfs 3D’ I did think what could really make the most of 3D in a Smurfs movie. Personally, I’m not a fan of the 3D element but that is up to you. Some parts of the film could be taken as rude. For example: replacing swear words with the word ‘smurf’! Personally I think that these are parts to keep parents interested and give it some sort of grown-up appeal. I actually found that it made the more childish parts more enjoyable.

Including voices from: Jonathan Winters, Fred Armisen, George Lopez, Anton Yelchin and Kenan Thompson along with a long list of others, I think it made this film ‘smurfolishious’!!!!

Watching this film really reminded me of when I was younger. The sad thing is that they had digitally enhanced the Smurfs, their village and everything else just seemed to become ‘too much’. Personally it looked far more false than the cartoon I remember. On the other hand, this didn’t disrupt my enjoyment of the film. This is a great family film and has parts in it for all the family, and with Gutsy Smurf’s (voiced by Alan Cumming) smashing lines you’ll be bound to laugh. Along with help from his siblings and of course Papa Smurf, will our new blue friends defeat Gargamel and rein supreme? Well as I’ve said before… You’ll have to watch and find out for yourself.

I rate this film:

Categories: Film Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment