Home > Coming Soon, Film Times, News > WE HAVE MANAGED TO AQUIRE “SENNA” FOR THE WEEKEND !

WE HAVE MANAGED TO AQUIRE “SENNA” FOR THE WEEKEND !

Just to let all you F1 motor racing fans out there that we are screening “SENNA” Sat 25 & Sun 26 only at 6:00 sharp, tickets now available at the cinema when open or online. Click on Book Tickets on the top bar to go straight to tickets.

Categories: Coming Soon, Film Times, News
  1. June 23, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Very good indeed, probably not my cup of tea but it is great that you have managed to get hold of a film suich as this, I expect you will be nice and busy this weekend!

  2. June 26, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    Daniel Spracklen :
    Very good indeed, probably not my cup of tea

    Like you, I thought it wouldn’t be my cup of tea – I don’t watch many documentaries; when I do, they’re of something I have particular interest in.

    Senna, being about the F1 driver Ayrton Senna da Silva who died before I was born, is not something which I previously had particular interest in.

    I saw it anyway (I think a for-two-days-only showing would push me in to seeing anything!) and was very pleasantly surprised, as I tweeted, “all documentaries should be made like #Senna” – I have a vague interest in F1, but I wouldn’t call myself a fan (I don’t think I’ve ever endured watched an entire race) and yet Senna catered to that perfectly. They managed to pique the interest of an audience, however vague their interest may be.

    I don’t believe for a second that the majority of people in the audience of Senna this weekend were fans of Ayrton Senna while he was alive – in fact I think those were a very small minority – I think the overwhelming majority in the audience came in looking for entertainment, many none-the-wiser of the reason for the films title, and left – at least slightly – fans of the film’s subject and namesake, Ayrton Senna.

    I thought it was incredibly well put together to achieve that – and more documentaries should follow suit in structure and style. As I write this a friend has texted me (in response to me saying I generally don’t go for documentaries) to say that “The Social Network is a documentary”. I completely disagree. The Social Network – and films like it, even including Touching the Void – are made for entertainment, not to inform. They’re “based on real events”; not “telling a real story”. They’re made by actors in studios, recreating and representing a story, twisting it where necessary to make it more entertaining viewing. Senna is 100% “real” footage, from the actual events of the story it tells – no re-creation or representation.

    Don’t get me wrong, I’ve seen The Social Network three times and thoroughly enjoyed each one. But I’ve only enjoyed it because I watched it with the mindset that it is entertainment; not a documentary.

    Senna is very much a documentary, and an awesome one at that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment